25/08/17
Our very own Scribbler, Michelle Kenney, is celebrating the publication of her debut novel Book of Fire today!
Published by Harper Collins HQ, Book of Fire is the first in a new YALit trilogy starting this autumn, and looks set to keep you toasty as the chillier weather sets in…
 

‘I loved it. I want someone to wipe my memory so I can read it all over again!’ Han Hunter

’I have not enjoyed reading a fantasy book this much since The Hunger Games and I devoured every single page.’ Zoe Mann

Heavily influenced by ancient Rome and set in  Exeter, ‘Book of Fire’ explores an apocalyptical world, in which nature and science clash with catastrophic effects.

Extract, Book 1

‘At the time of the Great War, before nature was allowed to reclaim what was once a bustling city, the moorland forest had covered only a few square miles. Now it stretched as far as the eye could see, swallowing up eerie ruins as it grew. It was dwarfed only by the monolithic Lifedome rearing up to the skyline, and swallowing one bite of the moon every night.

‘Our ancestors had called this area Exeter, but now it was only wilderness, filled with every species of animal from all corners of the earth.’

———————————————————————

Book of Fire Blurb:

Life outside the domes is not possible. At least that’s what Insiders are told.

 Twins Eli and Talia shouldn’t exist.

They’re Outsiders.

Their home is a secret. 

Their lives are a secret. 

Arafel is secret.

An unexpected forest raid forces Talia into a desperate mission to rescue her family whilst also protecting the sacred Book of Arafel from those who would use it as a weapon. As Talia and her lifelong friend Max enter the dome, she makes some unexpected discoveries and an ally, in the form of rugged Insider August, that will change the course of her life forever.

Talia will stop at nothing to save her family but will she sacrifice her heart in the process?

The Fire Sermon meets Gladiator in this brilliant YA debut and start of a fantastic new trilogy.

Perfect for fans of Francesca Haig, Suzanne Collins and Veronica Roth, Michelle Kenney’s debut novel will have readers asking August or Max? 

Insider or Outsider? 

And, most importantly, what would you do for family?

————————————————————-

To curl up with Book of Fire this autumn, click here.

Biog: www.dianebanks.co.uk/clients/young-adultchildrens/michelle-kenney

About Michelle

Michelle is a self-confessed scribbleaholic. She can usually be found daydreaming about mystical, fantasy worlds, and doctors say she’s pretty incurable. Michelle is a graduate of the Curtis Brown Writing for Children Novel Course. She also holds a LLB (Hons) Degree and is currently an Accredited Practitioner with the CIPR, with whom she has won several national awards for her Magazine & Media/PR related work. Michelle is currently represented by Chloe Seager of Diane Banks Associates and can be found, along with her Curtis Brown scribbling friends, on this blogsite. Biog: www.dianebanks.co.uk/clients/young-adultchildrens/michelle-kenney

Recent Coverage:

http://www.curtisbrowncreative.co.uk/michelle-kenney-book-of-fire-writing-ya-and-childrens-fiction/

https://literaryconsultancy.co.uk/2017/07/tlc-client-michelle-kenney-ya-trilogy-deal-hq/

http://www.theprsd.co.uk/2017/08/15/new-yalit-series-from-local-author-explores-apocalyptical-exeter-and-beyond/